Evening with Russian composers

I Piano Concerto in B flat minor by Tchaikovsky was written at the request of Nicholas Rubinstein. The concert, however, met with disapproval from the pianist, who later became, paradoxically, his incomparable interpreter. The pianist failed to persuade Tchaikovsky, to make changes in the work, which he evaluated as ungrateful, doubting its success.
However, the monumental work was met with a warm reception and eclipsed the previous piano concertos by Tchaikovsky. Soon, Rubinstein changed his mind, causing tremendous enthusiasm among the audience, performing a virtuoso concert. The work stands clarity of form, melodic theme and firm rhythmic.
Sheherezade is a symphonic suite - music tells a story of fairy tales from 1001 nights, in which the cruel sultan kills his wives out of hatred for women. However, the cunning and clever Sheherezade - last wife of Sultan - saves her life thanks to mysterious fables, telling them to her husband.
A Piece, full of charm and exoticism, that will bring us the atmosphere of eastern legends. It is a stunning, colorful tale, which is the essence of the composer's style.


An outstanding Polish pianist characterized by an uncompromising approach to the art of performance. He has performed symphony concerts, solo and chamber recitals in many countries around the world.
Born in 1980, graduated with honors from the Music Academy of Karol Szymanowski in Katowice, in the piano class of prof. Zbigniew Raubo in 2003. He continued his post-graduate studies at the Vancouver Academy of Music in Canada, under the guidance of prof. Lee Kum-Sing.
He earned many achievements, including:
- Third Prize, the prize of Arthur Rubinstein, founded by Aniela Rubinstein and a special prize of the Kosciuszko Foundation in New York at the Second International Competition for Young Pianists "Arthur Rubinstein in memoriam" in Bydgoszcz (1996),
- Winner of the Young Performers XXX Polish Piano Festival in Slupsk (1996),
- First prize and a prize in addition for the best performance of a concerto for the IV National Piano Competition of F. Liszt in Wroclaw (1997),
He received scholarships from many foundations and national and international institutions. Furthermore he received the prizes of the Prime Minister and the Minister of Culture scholarships. In 2004 he was awarded by the Kay Meek Scholarship, as a result of the competition for the best student of the Vancouver Academy of Music.


Wojciech Waleczek / piano /
Dainius PAVILIONIS / conductor/
The program includes:
PETER TCHAIKOVSKY – I Piano Concerto in B flat minor, Op. 23
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov - Scheherazade, Op. 35