15 February 2016, 7.00 p.m.
The Rehearsal Room of the JORDANKI Art and Congress Centre
Tickets: 30/20 PLN

Maciej AFANASJEW  /violin/
Karol SZYMANOWSKI /vibraphone/
Piotr BISKUPSKI - /drums/
Grzegorz NADOLNY /double bass/

The festival concerts will also present jazzy versions of violin music. This concert will be held in the rehearsal room, which boasts acoustic features ideally suited for this sort of performances.

The Maciej Afanasjew Quartet came into being as a result of the quest for new means of expression undertaken by its members. The arrangement of the violin, vibraphone and rhythm section has provided ample space for experimenting with coloration and scope. Hard bop and modal jazz mingles with the characteristic Slavic expressiveness, thus providing a new artistic value driven by the musicians associated with the Academy of Music in Bydgoszcz, who are keen on creating unique musical experiences. The quartet is formed by Maciej Afanasjew (violin), Karol Szymanowski (vibraphone), Piotr Biskupski (drums) and Grzegorz Nadolny (double bass).

‘Great playing! – this is how Mark Feldman described Afanasjew’s performances. The leader of the quartet graduated from the Academy of Music in Katowice and today is one of the pre-eminent Polish jazz violinists of the young generation. Adept at playing a variety of musical genres, he draws much inspiration from the hard bop tradition and divorces himself from the well-trodden paths of jazz violin music, thus giving a sense of originality. Throughout his career he has had an opportunity to co-operate with such artists as Uli  Rennert  (Austria),  Sean  Noonan  (USA),  Eric  Allen  (USA),  Maciej  Sikała, Cezary Paciorek, Krzysztof Herdzin, Janusz Skowron, Robert Luty, Cezary Konrad, Jerzy Główczewski, Susan and Martin Weinert (Germany). He has performed on a number of stages in Europe and China with jazz ensembles and as a violinist in symphony orchestras.

The meeting with Maciej Afanasjew will be held in Hanza Café at 12.00, where the artist will be presenting his book ‘Jazz violin arpeggios’.