Great Miniatures

Nova Music and Architecture
Chamber Hall of CKK Jordanki
20 PLN

The concert will be held under 25th International Festival “Nova Music and Architecture” - Toruń, Kuyavian-Pomeranian 2021

Yumiko Yumiba (Japan) – violin (The winner of the 3rd prize of the 5th International Karol Lipiński Violin Competition)
Bartłomiej Wezner – piano

Małgorzata Lisecka - introduction

The concert is a special prize for Yumiko Yumiba awarded by the Bureau of the 5th International Karol Lipiński Violin Competition

J. Sibelius - Five pieces for violin and piano Op. 81
J. Brahms - Sonate No. 3 in D minor for violin and piano Op. 108
M. Ravel - Sonate No. 2 in G major for violin and piano 
C.Saint-Saëns/E.Ysaÿe - Étude en forme de valse Op. 52 No. 6 

Sonata in D minor Op. 108 by Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) is a crowning example of the development of this genre in Romanticism. Completed in 1888 and dedicated to Joseph Joachim, it has a classical formal shape. The outer movements are tempestuous, full of dramatic tension generated by thematic dualism. The cantilena-like movement two (Adagio) leads to a seemingly idyllic intermezzo, in which the conflict smoulders. The work as a whole is rightly compared to a "masked symphony", as evidenced by both its formal shape as well as its sound.
The three-movement Sonata in G major No. 2 for violin and piano by Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) was created in 1923-27. At the same time the composer created other works, including a brilliant opera The Child and the Spells. The excellent biographer of Ravel - V. Jankélévitch wrote: in part I (Allegretto) “the duet of the Child and the Fairy seems to have come alive in its simplicity”, in part II (Blues. Moderato), the composer made use of ‘blue’ pizzicato chords with glissandos), and in part III (Perpetuum mobile. Allegro) he ‘rehabilitated the mobility of the romantic presto and the virtuosity of Paganini”.
One of the most popular compositions by Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921) is the Etude in Waltz Form Op. 52 No. 6, which is available in a transcription for violin and piano by Eugène Ysaӱe. Originally, it is the last of a collection of six piano etudes published in 1877.
The programme will also include miniatures of the musical ambassador of Finland in the world – Jean Sibelius (1865-1957) Five Pieces for Violin and Piano Op. 81 – compositions that were valued by the composer himself, the performers and the audience.

Aneta Derkowska, PhD

There is no intermission in the concert.
The event will take place in accordance with current recommendations and guidelines.

Please read the rules and comply with the GUIDELINES FOR THE CONCERT PARTICIPANTS.
and completing the statement to be given to 
you by staff on the day of the concert.