Recital organowy z prelekcją

Nova Music and Architecture
St. James Church
Admission free

The concert will be held under The 26th International Festival "Nova Music and Architecture", Toruń/Kujawsko-Pomorskie 2022

Kujawy + Pomorze – promotion of the economic potential of the region – 2nd


Dawid Wesołowski - organ/introduction

F. A. Guilmant - Sonate No. 4 in D-minor Op. 61
L. Boëlmann - Gotic Suite
A. Wierzbicki - Preludium 
Ch. H. Rinck - Variations on God Save the King

Félix Alexandre Guilmant (1837-1911) – an organist-virtuoso, a great teacher, famous for his brilliant art of improvisation, appreciated especially for his interpretations of Johann Sebastian Bach's music, revived with his activities the early organ music trend. He popularized the form of an organ recital, and thanks to his typically French sensitivity to timbre, he developed the art of using organ registers, obtaining a truly symphonic sound. His particular sensitivity to the timbre of the sound is reflected in his eight organ sonatas. Guilmant's organ work and virtuosity contributed to the development of the French organ school in the 19th and 20th centuries. Another representative of French neo-romanticism in the field of organ music is Léon Boëllmann (1862-1897). His four-part Gothic Suite op. 25 composed two years before his premature death, is characterized by daring harmonics and contrasts, especially in terms of pace and dynamics. Part III - the lyrical Prayer (orig. Prière à Notre-Dame) is remembered in a particular way. Almost our compatriot, Antoni Wierzbicki (1914-1994), for almost fifty years worked as an organist in the cathedral basilica of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Włocławek. Thoroughly educated at the Salesian Organ School in Przemyśl, he left a real treasury legacy of organ music, with numerous collections of organ preludes. In turn, Johann Christian Heinrich Rinck (1770-1846) - the oldest guest composer at the Festival, was an organist, cantor and teacher at the music school in Darmstadt. He wrote mainly piano and organ pieces, and his compositional legacy is now owned by Yale University.

Aneta Derkowska Ph.D.