Inauguration of the 42nd artistic season

Viva Beethoven!
Data wydarzenia
Concert Hall in CKK Jordanki
30/40 PLN

A concert ticket entitles you to participate in the meeting. Duration approx. 30 minutes. We cordially invite you!

Mariusz Klimsiak  - piano
Toruń Symphony Orchestra
Dainius Pavilionis (Lithuania) - conductor
Andrzej Sułek - introduction

L. van Beethoven - V Koncert fortepianowy Es-dur op. 73 „Cesarski”
P. Czajkowski - IV Symfonia f-moll op. 36

Ludwig van Beethoven, just like Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, was a loner. Neither of them could communicate with the world by means of words. They preferred to speak a universal language – music. Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36 was taking shape during a very difficult for the composer period, the time of his short-lived marriage which turned out to be a big failure. During that time, Tchaikovsky suffered greatly and even attempted suicide. All those traumatic experiences left their mark on his music – on Symphony No. 4, often described as an autobiographical piece. The composed dedicated it to his best friend and long-time protector – Nadezhda von Meck, whom he never met in person but with whom he frequently corresponded. For many years, the music of Tchaikovsky was surrounded by debate as to whether it should be regarded as the programme category and interpreted in this spirit, or perhaps if the music of one of the most prominent Russian composers should be allowed to have an independent life of its own. The polemics around the programme character of the music were justified, since Tchaikovsky tended to shut the programmes of his compositions away in the drawer and carefully hide their contents from the world for a very long time. However, on 17th February 1827, in a letter to Nadezhda, he described the content of Symphony No. 4. It was this symphony that the composer liked and valued the most, which is probably the reason why his own words let us understand this piece best and help us rediscover it all over again.
The Piano Concerto No. 5 in E♭ major, Op. 73, known as the Emperor Concerto, is Beethoven’s last work for piano and orchestra. In the creation of the piece, the composer referred to the popular in his time tradition of military concertos. In this symphonic masterpiece, the piano is in the lead while the orchestra accompanies the solo instrument with a spirit that is indeed symphonic. As for movement II (Adagio un poco mosso), it shows that Beethoven was not a stranger to the lyrical category.

Aneta Derkowska, PhD

The event will take place as part of the Viva Beethoven! - the 250th anniversary of the composer's birth project.

There is no intermission in the concert.
The event will take place in accordance with current recommendations and guidelines.

Please read the rules and comply with the GUIDELINES FOR THE CONCERT PARTICIPANTS.
and completing the statement to be given to 
you by staff on the day of the concert.