Summer & Sax

Nova Music and Architecture
Data wydarzenia
Concert Hall CKK Jordanki
30 PLN

The concert will be held under 25th International Festival “Nova Music and Architecture” - Toruń, Kuyavian-Pomeranian 2021

Łukasz Dyczko - saxophone
Toruń Symphony Orchestra
Wojciech Rodek – conductor
Magdalena Miśka-Jackowska - introduction

F. Mendelssohn-Bartholdy – Overture to A Midsummer Night's Dream
A. Waignein – Rapsodia for alt saxophone and orchestra
M. Górecki - Concerto-Notturno for saxophone and string orchestra
C. Saint-Saëns – Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso in A minor Op. 28 (arr. Ł. Dyczko)
C. M. von Weber – Symphony No. 1 in C major Op. 19 

Carl Maria Weber (1786-1826) was famous for his creative versatility – he wrote: operas, masses, symphonies, concertos and chamber pieces. He was one of the most prominent representatives of the brilliant style (a virtuoso style in music, especially in piano music of the first half of the 19th century, characterised by showiness and virtuosity as well as cantilena-like melodies with sentimental overtones). His first compositions already bear traces of bold ingenuity. The sonata allegro that opens Symphony No.1 in C major Op. 19 resembles an overture; it is full of spontaneous energy, full of youthful enthusiasm. The final Presto has the vitality which was born, as Piotr Orawski wrote: “(...) at the meeting point of Italian melodiousness, French esprit and German reliability”.
Shakespeare’s Midsummer Night’s Dream is permeated with music throughout. It inspired many composers, including: Henry Purcell, Benjamin Britten, and also Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809-1847). The latter was hailed a genius after writing the Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Breaking away from Beethoven, who created a new ethos of symphonic music, Mendelssohn wrote a composition full of frenetic joy and lightness, texturally clear, wonderfully orchestrated, which has since become synonymous with the Elfenromantik style.
‘Concerto’ appears in the title of the composition by Mikołaj Górecki (b. 1971) – son of the famous Henryk Mikołaj Górecki. Mikołaj Górecki graduated with distinction from the Academy of Music in Katowice in 1995, as a student of his father. His artistic output in that time already included such compositions as: Four Pieces for Large Orchestra (1989-90), Adagio for Orchestra (1990), Way of the Cross for Orchestra (1995). During his studies he composed two concertos ‘in the style of Chopin’. In 1996-7, he was a scholarship holder at The Banff Centre for the Arts in Canada. In 2001 he received a doctorate in composition from the American Indiana University in Bloomington and became a lecturer at McGill University in Montreal. He wrote his Concerto notturno for saxophone and string orchestra (which also exists in a version for violin and string orchestra) in 2000. The work consists of three movements: slow (Lento), fast (Allegro) and slow (Molto lento). This three-phase structure brings to mind the shape of a nocturne. The entire work is performed attacca (without a break between movements) and lasts around fourteen minutes.
Other compositions, such as Rondo Capriccioso for saxophone and string orchestra by Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921) and Rhapsody for alto saxophone and orchestra by André Waignein (1942-2015) will also reveal the virtuoso face of the saxophone.

Aneta Derkowska, PhD

There is no intermission in the concert.
The event will take place in accordance with current recommendations and guidelines.

Please read the rules and comply with the GUIDELINES FOR THE CONCERT PARTICIPANTS.
and completing the statement to be given to 
you by staff on the day of the concert.