Beethoven. Into a creative frenzy #2 | Chamber concerto

Viva Beethoven!
Broadcast online
Admission free

Marcin Zdunik - cello
Aleksander Dębicz – piano

Muzyka przyszłości.
L. van Beethoven - Sonata A-dur op. 69
Musical duets improvisations on the basis of nine Beethoven’s symphonies

Ludwig van Beethoven paved the way and was a point of reference for the future generations of composers also in the field of the sonata for cello and piano.
The completion of the Cello Sonata No. 3 in A Major, Op. 69 for cello and piano occurred at the moment of the flourishing of Beethoven’s creative fecundity. The composition, finished in 1808 (just like Symphony No. 5 and 6), was dedicated to the composer’s friend – baron Ignaz Freiherr von Gleichenstein – an amateur cellist. The piece, with the inscription: “Inter Lacrimas et Luctum” (“In tears and grief”), moves the most sensitive strings of the listener’s soul with its lyricism and melancholy. The intellectual and emotional dialogue of both instruments takes on various “sound frames”, now touching lyrical and reflective tones, then tones impetuous and energetic. The second movement – Adagio cantabile, of an outstandingly ode-like character, is an augury of musical Romanticism. Beethoven was well aware that grief and tears are a part of the human condition. But he also knew that the human being can be strong, and overcoming their own weaknesses, they can emerge “like a phoenix out of the ashes” to again and again face the world anew.

Aneta Derkowska, PhD

The event will take place as part of the Viva Beethoven! - the 250th anniversary of the composer's birth project.

We invite you to an online concert,
which will be broadcast on December 16 at 7 pm on our Youtube channel.
The concert will be available on our channel until end of June, 2021.